Do Cherry Trees Grow in Water

Michael Langerman
5 min readFeb 9, 2021

--

Roosevelt Island NYC is known for its annual Cherry Blossom Festival.

A lot of cherry trees grow along either side of the island.

And some cherry trees bloom all year around, even in the New Year in freezing cold weather!

You can see it my live stream videos.

Most cherry trees bloom here in March-April.

Here you can see cherries start blooming on March 24th, 2019.

A very pretty sight!

I cut a branch with unopened blooms.

In this example, I keep all leaf buds and only flower buds on the top of the cutting.

Also, let’s remove a couple centimeters of bark from the bottom of the cutting.

Fill a jar with dechlorinated water.

Make a hole in the lid of the jar, big enough to fit the cutting through.

Put the cutting through the hole.

Enjoy the cherry bloom!

Pretty awesome!

It took a couple days for all blooms of this cutting to fully open.

Here you can see it 5 days later, on March 29th.

Leaves start growing.

No roots growing.

I keep the cherry cutting on a windowsill.

A couple days later on April 1st.

Flowers wilted.

Leaves protruding from the buds.

About a week later, on April 8th.

Leaves have grown noticeably.

There is something jell-like…growing on the stem in the water.

Let’s take a closer look on it.

I don’t know what it is…

Do you have any ideas? Please, let me know in comments.

Well, let’s change the water.

And the cutting goes back.

A week ago, on April 1st, I checked the cherry tree I took the cutting from.

The tree was already covered with strong leaves.

I make another cutting.

I cut 3 cuttings of this season’s growth from this branch.

And I keep one growing on the old branch.

The old and new branches have bark of noticeably different colors.

Let’s remove about 1 centimeter of bark from the bottom of all new cuttings.

I trim the bottom part of the cutting with old bark — making it fit for my small nurseries.

Also, let’s clip off the bottom leaves.

All cuttings go into one aquarium garden.

On July 13th, I come to take more cuttings from the same Cherry tree.

Let’s make a couple cuttings from this branch.

Once again, I remove bottom leaves from each cutting.

All cuttings go into an aquarium garden with other plants.

Long story short — all of the Cherry tree cuttings I made in 2019 dried out after a while, never growing any roots.

I will try it again! Have fun and happy aquarium garden :)

--

--