Growing Jade Succulent Plant in Water

Michael Langerman
3 min readJul 21, 2020

--

Many thanks and hugs to my lovely daughter, Anastasia, for proofreading all my work (including this one) and for giving me a cutting of a Crassula Ovata Jade succulent plant.

Here is the cutting of the Jade plant on May 6th, 2019
The cutting has two pairs of leaves.

Let’s trim the bottom of the stem, making the cut below the joint.

Initially, I put the cutting on top of a new 4.5 liter dinosaur head aquarium garden shown in previous videos.

Make sure the bottom of the stem stays in the water.

And keep all leaves above the water, resting on the planter.

About one month later, on June 7th, the cutting has two tiny white roots growing.

Here you can see them.

Four months later, I move the Jade plant into a newly built vase aquarium garden.

February 1st, 2020.
It took about half an year for a pair of new leaves to grow.

Roots have grown noticeably.

And another pair of leaves started growing on May 21st, 2020.

This Jade plant has been growing a full year with its roots in water.

It grows slowly without any maintenance.
Which makes it a great addition to my collection of succulents and other land plants growing with their roots in water in my aquarium gardens.

Have fun and happy aquarium gardens :)

--

--